Staff & Governors 2016-17

HeadmasterMr Peter BrooksMA, BEd (Hons), Cert Ed, IAPS
Deputy HeadmasterMr Ian MitchellMA, BA (Hons), PGCEGeography, Maths, Games
Director of StudiesMr James MarchBA (Hons), PGCEEnglish
Bursar/School AdministratorMrs Sally Witts Designated Safeguarding Lead
Head of Junior DepartmentMr Liam ClarkeBSc, PGCEYear 5 Form Teacher, Games, Head of Pastoral Care, Deputy DSL
Head of Pre-PrepMiss Eleanor WallissBSc (Hons), PGCEYear 2 Form Teacher, Deputy DSL
Mr Mike BaileyNVQ Level 3Art & Design Technology
Mr Daniel BurgessBA (Hons) PGCE Year 7 Form Teacher, Head of Maths, IT
Mrs Susan CallaghanBSc (Hons), Higher Dip EducationYear 7 Form Teacher, Science, Abco
Mrs Sarah CarpenterMA, BA (Hons) French, PGCEYear 4 Form Teacher, Junior French
Mr Barney CowieBSc Sports Science, PGCEYear 8 Form Teacher, Head of Sport
Mrs Sarah DeanBSc (Hons), QTSYear 3 Form Teacher
Mr Chris GearBA (Hons), ACAPGCE Student
Mr Robert HendryBSc Sports Studies and Physical EducationPGCE Student
Mrs Nicola LambertBA (Hons), PGCEYear 4 Form Teacher
Miss Emilia Maciejewska MA Arts Education Art Teacher
Mrs Jenny MalcolmBA (Hons) Primary TeachingYear 1 Form Teacher
Mr Jon MarlerBA (Ed) (Hons)Year 9 Form Teacher, English, History, Games
Mrs Julie Marskell NVQ Level 3Reception Teacher
Miss Sam McSweeneyBA Primary Education with Physical EducationYear 3 Form Teacher
Mrs Isabelle PickenBA (Hons), PGCE, TEFL Years 3 and 4 Maths Teacher
Miss Gemma PybusBSc, PGCEYear 6 Form Teacher, Maths
Mrs Sarah RobertsCACHE Level 3 DiplomaNursery Assistant
Mr Colin RussellBSc Marine Biology & Ocean GeographyYear 6 Form Teacher, PGCE Student
Mrs Sally SeiverBEd (Hons)Year 5 Form Teacher
Mrs Deborah SteerCACHE Level 3 DiplomaNursery Leader
Mrs Fiona SwiftNVQ Level 3Pre-Prep and Junior French
Mrs Stella TaylorPDLS, PGCEYear 8 Form Teacher, French
Mrs Phillipa WatkinsBA (Hons) Music & History, PGCEHead of Music
Mrs S WestonPGCE, Dip. C.O.T. Head of RS

Governors 2016 – 2017

The Kingswood House School Trust Limited is controlled by a board of Governors under the chairmanship of Mr C Shipley. Mr Shipley may be contacted c/o Kingswood House School, 56 West Hill, Epsom KT19 8LG. The Governing Body oversees the external management of the School. There are various sub-committees set up to assist the Headmaster. The Headmaster and his Senior Leadership Team supervise the internal management of the School. This includes, at the Headmaster’s discretion, the Deputy Headmaster, the Director of Studies, the Head of Pre-Prep, the Head of Junior Department and the School Administrator/Bursar.

Mr C ShipleyLLB (Hons) MBA Chair from September 2015 Former parent Local solicitor (Corporate Law) & Senior Partner at Downs Solicitors in Dorking Sub-Committees: Finance, Chair of Strategy, Risk Management
Mr R AustenBSc (Eng), CEng, MICE, MIHT Chair from October 2005-August 2015 Former parent & retired engineer Sub-Committees: Foundation, Finance, Development, Risk Management
Mrs V BaconBEd (Hons) Apple Distinguished Educator, Teacher, Education Consultant
Mrs J H BourneBSc Former biochemist with experience in IT & school administration Sub-Committees: Chair of Marketing, Health & Safety
Dr H H Bowen-PerkinsMRCS LRCP MB BS LMSSA PGD Cardiology Old Boy, former parent, local GP & Governor of Epsom College Sub-Committees: Chair of Health & Safety, Child Welfare, Strategy
Mr R L ClarkeDip Arch RIBA Former parent, local architect with own practice Sub-Committees: Chair of Development, Health & Safety
Mr K CrombieBSc Retired Headmaster of St Michael’s Preparatory School, Kent Sub-Committees: Education, Strategy, Foundation
Mrs L CulmBEd (Hist) Oxon RSA Dip SpLD AMBDA Head of Learning Support & SENco at St John’s School, Leatherhead Sub-Committees: Development, SEN
Mr R JohnstoneBA PGCE AMDIS Marketing Diploma Teacher & House Tutor at Epsom College Sub-Committees: Chair of Risk Management, Education, Marketing
H H Judge G KentLLB (Hons) Former parent & former barrister Circuit Judge in criminal law Sub-Committees: Child Welfare, Health & Safety
Mr A LawFCA Bursar at a non-competing Independent School & Vice President of Old Freemen’s Association Sub-Committees: Chair of Finance, Foundation
Mr A MatthewsMA (Hist) CANTAB ICAEW Chartered Accountant & former parent Private equity investment & advisory services Sub-Committees: Foundation, Finance, Strategy, Technology Advisor

The Study Centre Teaching Staff 2016 – 2017

SENCo Mrs Janet EdmondsonBSc Speech & Language Therapy, Advanced Diploma in Managing the role of the SENCo, MRCSLT, HCPC Registered
Senior School SENCo Mrs Christina O'Regan B.A. (Hons) Modern Arts, QTLS, RSA Dip SpLD, APC, Member of Dyslexia Guild and Patoss QTLS
Ms Patricia Almlof BEng Electrical & Electronic Engineering, MRes Modelling Complex Biological Systems, Multi-Sensory Education Specialist, ASD Mentor, Consultant & Trainer
Mrs Deborah Archer BA (Hons) French & European Literature, University of Warwick, Hornsby Diploma in Teaching Children with Specific Learning Difficulties, Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language
Mrs Anne BallBSc Speech & Language Therapy, MRCSLT, ASLTIP, HCPC registered.
Mrs Jeanette Groves Level 5 Diploma in Teaching Children with Specific Learning Difficulties (Maths and Literacy) Patoss Associate Member
Mrs Juliet GrünBA (Hons) French, PGCE Post Graduate Certificate in Dyslexia and Literacy
Mrs Lucy FanningBSc (Hons) Psychology, PGCE, Post Graduate Certificate in Dyslexia and Literacy
Mrs Ann-Margaret FarquharB App Sc ( Speech Pathology ); MSc (Human Communication) MRCSLT; MASLTIP; MHCPC
Mrs Amanda HallBEd Hons (London), RSA Diploma in Teaching Children with Specific Learning Difficulties, Phono-Graphix Therapist
Mrs Isabelle PickinBA (Hons) English with Medieval Studies, PGCE Primary Education TEFL Post Graduate Certificate in Structured Teaching for Dyslexia and Literacy Intervention (Dyslexia Action Guild)
Mrs Emma RendleBSc (Hons) Speech Sciences, MRCSLT, MASLTIP, HCPC Registered
Mrs Sue ReynoldsonBA (Hons) Geography Post Graduate Certificate in Dyslexia and Literacy

Occupational Therapist

Mrs Aniesa BloreBachelor of Occupational Therapy, Clinical Specialist Paediatric Occupational Therapist, Member of Health Professions Council, Senior Associate of the Royal Society of Medicine, Member of British Association of Occupational Therapists

Learning Support Assistants 2016 – 2017

Mr Ian BennettsExperienced LSA
Ms Raquel Campbell BSc (Hons) Logic and Maths, MA (Hons) Portuguese Literature
Mrs Sarah ConnerNCFE Level 2 Support Work in Schools
Mrs Joanna DanksBA (Hons), NCFE Level3 in Supporting Teaching & Learning in Schools
Mrs Emma Darbishire B. Nursing (Hons)
Mrs Glenda du PlessisBA (Hons) Geography & PE, PG Diploma in Education
Mrs Rachel ElseBSc (Hons) Psychology, Cert in Dyslexia & Literacy (Hornsby)
Mrs Michelle Johns Experienced LSA
Mrs Linda KitchenExperienced LSA
Mrs Kate LongLevel 2 Understanding Autism, Level 3 Supporting Teaching & Learning in Schools
Mrs Claire McGill NVQ Level 3, Learning and Development
Mr Campbell McKelvie OADip (SEN Advanced)
Ms Nicola ParsonsCert SLPS (Open)
Mrs Karen Santos NVQ Level 2 TA
Mrs Emma SharpeExperienced LSA
Ms Fiona SwiftNVQ Level 3 TA
Ms Katey Timothy NVQ Level 3 TA
Mrs Sarah-Jane WhitfieldCACHE Level 3 Speech & Language Support & Level 3 Supporting Teaching & Learning, Elkan Level 3 Qualified Speech and Language support for 5-11 year olds

Administrative Staff 2016-2017

Mrs Caron Alford Head of Marketing & Development
Mrs Karen HardingSchool/Head’s Secretary
Mrs Susan LucasSEN Secretary
Mrs Helen ParkerRegistrar
Mrs Michelle StepneyAccountant
Mrs Sally WittsBursar/School Administrator


Mrs J Chandler Catering Manager
Miss M Lopez Assistant Cook
Miss J Leong Kitchen Assistant
Mrs I Lau Kitchen Assistant
Mrs A Yeang Kitchen Assistant
Miss A Hafiz Kitchen Assistant

Grounds, Maintenance, Minibus

Mr Paul HylandsGroundsman / Minibus Driver
Mr Ron GummerMaintenance
Mr David HaylockMinibus Driver